Legislative Agenda

The Voter Rights Network of Wyandotte County’s Legislative Agenda communicates the organization’s key areas of focus at the state, local, and federal levels of government. Working together with various legislative organizations helps promote public policy decisions that reflect the priorities of our economy.

Find your Kansas Legislator
Contact your legislator.

Voter Rights

SB 394 / HB 2585
Requiring all advanced voting ballots be returned by 7 p.m. on election day.

SB 388
Requiring the use of the United States postal service when returning an advance ballot by mail.


SB 355 – Motion to Reconsider Failed
Substitute for SB 355 by Committee on Redistricting – Proposing congressional redistricting map Ad Astra two.


SB 515
Requiring nondiscrimination in school district classroom instruction, public access to learning materials and removal of inherently divisive concepts from state board of education policies, guidelines and other materials.

HB 2550
Establishing the student empowerment act to provide education savings accounts for certain students to use to attend participating private schools.

HB 2662
Substitute for HB 2662 by Committee on K-12 Education Budget – Establishing the parents’ bill of rights and academic transparency act, requiring school districts to establish parent transparency portals to provide information on materials that are used or made available in schools, prohibiting schools from non-renewing a teacher’s contract for refusing to teach against certain beliefs or practices and establishing requirements for the administration of certain nonacademic tests, questionnaires, surveys, and examinations.

HB 2615
Substitute for HB 2615 by Committee on K-12 Education Budget – Creating the student empowerment act to authorize the establishment of educational savings accounts, authorizing course credit to be earned through alternative educational opportunities and permitting students to transfer to attend school in any school.

Open Seats on the Kansas State School Board
The Mission of the State Board of Education is to prepare Kansas students for lifelong success through rigorous, quality academic instruction, career training, and character development according to each student’s gifts and talents. The Kansas State Board of Education consists of 10 elected members, each representing a district comprised of four contiguous senatorial districts. Board members serve four-year terms with an overlapping schedule. Every other year, the State Board reorganizes to elect a chair and vice-chair. The current Chair is Jim Porter and the Vice-Chair is Janet Waugh. The State Board appoints a Commissioner of Education who serves as its executive director. The current Commissioner is Dr. Randy Watson.